caliente_uk: (eeyorecandles made by peacefully)
[personal profile] caliente_uk
I've hardly been online at all over the last few days, so I missed the LJ Blackout over the weekend. I'm glad I did, because I would have been frantic if I'd wanted to access LJ and couldn't! It's one thing to voluntarily have a few days away, but to want to catch up with everyone and not be able to? I'd have been pulling my hair out! *clings to LJ*

When I have been online, I've been reading fanfic. Not the WIPs I'm folllowing, but fanfic that has been finished for years! I'm going to catch up on the WIPs I'm following over the next few days, but I wanted to lose myself in something new (to me) that was long and *complete*. :) And you'll never guess what...I read and *finished* my very first all human fic!

Now, I have to be completely honest here. I've tried (and failed) many times to read all human fic. It just doesn't work for me. I know that there are some wonderful stories out there, but if Spike and Buffy aren't a vampire and Slayer, I lose interest very quickly. It's a personal preference that has caused me to miss a lot of wonderful fic, I know. But there you have it. So what made this all human fic different? To be honest, I don't know. But it's a fic that I know is a favourite of a few of you ([livejournal.com profile] jamalov29 was one of the first people who drew my attention to it) and was recently rec'ed on the [livejournal.com profile] buffyversetop5 community. It's called Speedway and was written by Jypzrose. I loved it! If you haven't read any of her fic before, go and give it a try. She's also written some wonderful Spuffy stories where Spike and Buffy are a vampire and Slayer! :)

I have to say, though, that while I loved Speedway and completely lost myself in the story (I actually ended up saving it to my computer and reading it until 3am in the morning), it was still lacking that vital ingredient that (to me) make Spike and Buffy who they are. So while I thoroughly recommend Speedway to anyone who wants to read a great story that is full of romance, and has a wonderful original character (who crops up in more than one of Jypzrose's stories), I still have to say that all human fic isn't something that I can see myself reading on a regular basis. However, it is something that I won't automatically rule out from now on. If I see an all human fic that has been recommended, or written by an author that I admire, I'll definitely give it a chance. But my personal preference is always going to be a Spike and Buffy who are a vampire and Slayer. That's the Spike and Buffy who I fell in love with. Without that vital ingredient, they're just a shadow of the characters that I love. All in my own very personal opinion, of course. :)



Now some belated birthday wishes...

Wishing a belated happy birthday to [livejournal.com profile] theohara and [livejournal.com profile] toysdream! I hope you both had a wonderful day. :)

Also wishing a belated happy birthday to the one and only, lovely, and very talented [livejournal.com profile] kazzy_cee!! I met Karen in London last year (I can't believe it's been a year already!) and she really is every bit as lovely as you'd expect her to be. She even managed to get me to talk, which is not an easy thing to do, believe me! ;) I hope we get the chance to meet again in the not too distant future, Karen, and that your birthday was a good one for you! *sending many hugs and much love your way*

Date: 2006-11-06 10:40 am (UTC)
ext_11988: made by lmbossy (Default)
From: [identity profile] kazzy-cee.livejournal.com
Thanks Cal - I was busy at the weekend, but I missed having Lj to dip into - and didn't by any means keep checking every hour... no, no, that wasn't me ;)

I had a great birthday.

I can't believe it's a year since W&M either!! Where does the time go?? *hugs you*

Date: 2006-11-06 07:04 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] caliente-uk.livejournal.com
So glad you had a good day! *hugs*

Date: 2006-11-06 12:28 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jamalov29.livejournal.com
I'm glad I could lull you into the world of Spuffy human!verse .:)
Speedway is really great.
I know what you mean when you write that : it was still lacking that vital ingredient that (to me) make Spike and Buffy who they are.

Yet there are stories which offer a truly satisfying characterization , and where you can still recognize and enjoy what's so unique about Spike and Buffy. :)


So , when you feel like it again.. :-)

There are a few more recs ( those are all fantastic tales ) !

-By rook or by crook - [livejournal.com profile] eurydice72. You'll find it here : http://www.loveslastglimpse.com/
"It’s 1940, and the streets of Manhattan are the last place on earth ex-hitman William Rook ever expected to find himself again. But one last job has demanded he return, a job that pushes him directly into the path of a certain blonde chanteuse named Buffy Summers, and nothing will ever be the same again…for either of them…."


-Crash and burn - [livejournal.com profile] nautibitz.
Here : http://www.nautibitz.com/fic/cb/crash01.html
"Buffy's an 18-year old Valley brat. Spike's a recently jilted 20-something expat slacker. Smash 'em together on a mountain road."
It's funny , delightful , hot , hot = perfect !

- Indigo Overture - [livejournal.com profile] rikki_oko.
Here : http://rikki.jaded-paradise.net/indigo/

"Spike's just a drummer, content to live in lead singer Angel's shadow. But when a certain blonde strolls in on Angel's arm, will Spike be content to take the backseat forever?"


Let me know when you read them?!



Date: 2006-11-06 07:31 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] caliente-uk.livejournal.com
Ooh, thank you for the recs, Caroline! Eurydice and Nautibitz are two of my favourite authors. I'll definitely check all three recs out! I've read everything that Eurydice has ever written, apart from "By Rook or By Crook", so I'll definitely have to give that one a try. My aversion to all human fics has put me off until now, but I'm trying to get over it. *g*

Date: 2006-11-06 12:51 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bogwitch.livejournal.com
I loved Speedway too, but it frustrates me too because I think it could be so much better with just a little bit more work to shore up it's flaws.

I wish I could beta it.

Date: 2006-11-06 07:51 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] caliente-uk.livejournal.com
I know what you mean. Her fics are great, but they're far from perfect beta-wise. Luckily, the stories are good enough that the mistakes don't take me out of the story too much, but they could be so much better with the help of a good beta! :)

Date: 2006-11-07 12:14 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] juliet-desires.livejournal.com
Your personal opinion very closely matches mine. The only human fic I've ever written is the taboo fic with Tam and I'm pretty convinced Buffya dn Spike are reasonably close to the mark. I have read Speedway though (and all Jypz's stuff) and loved it with a passion. But I totally understand that missing element you mention. I love canon. Adore it. It works!

Profile

caliente_uk: (Default)
caliente_uk

December 2012

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30 31     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 07:00 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios